Jump to content

New Hungarian Museum of Transport – participants announced

The pre-qualification phase of the design competition for the new Hungarian Museum of Transport has ended. Besides the previously invited eleven architects, four more applicants were given the opportunity to participate in the contest. The design competition for this large-scale cultural development in the area of the Northern Maintenance Depot in Budapest has attracted a great deal of interest worldwide, with 90 valid applications.

„The Hungarian Museum of Transport has launched an international competition on 9 August 2018 for the design of the new home of the institution. The museum will be rebuilt on a 7-hectare area of the Northern Maintenance Depot in Budapest. The development is among the most ambitious brownfield revitalization programmes in Europe, offering challenges in the field of architecture, urban development, heritage conservation and landscaping. The contest created a considerable interest in Hungary and worldwide. The participation of world-famous international and renowned Hungarian professionals guarantees that the jury will be able to select the winning designer out of the best talents” – Dávid Vitézy, General Director.


Prior to the announcement of the competition, the museum directly invited eleven architectural firms to participate, based on their reputation in museum design, heritage redevelopment and urban planning. During pre-qualification, each of the invitees has verified that it meets the professional requirements. The remaining positions were open for architects from all over the world.

Of the 90 valid applications received, the museum selected four candidates - based on the rankings detailed in Contest Documentation - who can join the eleven directly invited participants to the design phase.

A jury of Hungarian and international experts, chaired by Dávid Vitézy, General Director of the Hungarian Museum of Transport and Dr Ferenc Makovényi PhD, delegate of the Hungarian Chamber of Architects, will choose the winner of the competition in the first quarter of 2019.


The participants of the competition are:


  • 3H Építésziroda
  • Amanda Levete Architects Ltd.
  • Atelier Brückner GmbH
  • Bjarke Ingels Group
  • Caruso St John Architects
  • CÉH Zrt. / Foster & Partners
  • David Chipperfield Architects
  • Diller Scofidio + Renfro
  • Eisenman Architects / Beyer Blinder Belle
  • Építész Stúdió Kft.
  • gmp International GmbH
  • KÖZTI Zrt.
  • Lacaton & Vassal Architectes
  • Reichen et Robert & Associés / Ralph Appelbaum Associates / PLANT Atelier Kis Péter
  • Schmidt Hammer Lassen Architects / Perkins+Will / BuroHappold Engineering / JAC Studios


Members of the jury are:

Dr László Baán, General Director of the Museum of Fine Arts in Budapest, Prof. Enric Batlle PhD architect, landscape architect (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Batlle I Roig), Nóra Demeter DLA architect, Kristin Feireiss, architecture and design curator, writer, Zsolt Füleky, Deputy State Secretary for Architecture, Dr Balázs Fürjes, State Secretary for Budapest, Prof. Pedro Gadanho architect, curator, Director of MAAT Museum for Art, Architecture and Technology in Lisbon, Dr István György, government commissioner of the Government Office for Budapest, Judit Z. Halmágyi DLA architect, Pieter Jonckers, Director of Train World Brussels, Dr Erzsébet Szentpéteri Kócziánné, former Director of the Hungarian Museum of Transport, Miklós Mártonffy, Head of the Urban Planning Department of the Municipality of Budapest, Dr Sándor Pap, Deputy Mayor of Kőbánya, Marcela Steinbachová PhD architect (Skupina), Tamás Wachsler leader of the Steindl Imre Program and Nóra Winkler art journalist.